h1

Looking for a Blog???

January 24, 2009

Up until a few days ago, I was apparently a Google rookie, despite my regular use of the website as a search engine.  For the NMDL class I’m taking, I was prompted to investigate Google more thoroughly and I was very surprised by what I found.  There are so many useful, convenient and FUN tools out there that I didn’t even know existed.

I spent quite some time playing with Google Earth, and even got my daughter interested in it.  Some of the other Google applications, while seemingly great ideas, don’t have as much value to me personally.

However, upon checking out Google Blog Search, I found a whole new area to use.  There are so many blogs out there today, but how could one person possibly find them all, or even the ones that may interest them?  Enter Google Blog Search.  By simply typing in one or two words you get screens and screens of possible matches to your interest or topic.

We are going to be traveling to Florida in a few weeks with our three young children.  While we have done this many times in the past, I was interested to see what other parents did to keep their kids busy – I can always use new ideas.  I typed “traveling with kids” into the blog search and came up with several great blogs!  “Green Daily” was a great site that offered some great ideas that were not only new and differnet, but green as well.  How clever!

There were blogs on traveling with kids with special diets (airlines often don’t offer viable options), traveling with various baby gear, good places to travel to (and some to avoid) and so on, and so on…..  You could truly find pretty much whatever you are looking for here.

Another blog I read was “Travel Tips – 10 Time-Tested Tips for Traveling with Toddlers” since all of my kids are under six years old.  This too offered some good ideas and some tips I had not yet tried.

Perhaps I will get lucky and not need any of these…. perhaps all of my kids will simply fall asleep at take off and wake for landing… or, perhaps I will need to use several of these before we even board the plane.  Regardless, this blog tool was a great find and one I’m certain I will continue to use often.

Leave a comment